Yes! Medical Marijuana is Legal in Ohio!

In 2016, State lawmakers adopted House Bill 523, which changed the medical marijuana laws in Ohio. Medical marijuana is legal in the Buckeye State, and Ohio's medical marijuana laws are progressing to allow greater access to cannabis for patients who want to take control of their treatment plan!

The list of conditions that qualify for treatment with medical marijuana has expanded, and there are more dispensaries opening regularly. It looks like 2021 and beyond will see Ohio's laws on medical marijuana growing to include more patients, better access, and an overall more comprehensive program for legalized medical cannabis.

Keep in mind that you need a recommendation from a medical marijuana doctor in Ohio in order to be able to shop at Ohio cannabis dispensaries. Ohio Marijuana Card is here to help you get your medical card and start getting the natural relief you deserve! Give us a call at (866) 457-5559 or schedule a medical marijuana evaluation appointment online today!

What Are The Rules For Ohio's Medical Marijuana Program

The State of Ohio has put forth a system of rules that govern Ohio’s medical marijuana program. To make sure that our patients have a full understanding of the rules they must follow with their Ohio Marijuana Card, we have put together a short article including the most important aspects covered under the program.

Although medical marijuana patients are protected under the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program, there are certain rules and medical marijuana laws that still must be followed in order to be in full compliance with the program.​

Rules for Ohio's Medical Marijuana Program:

Registration Fee:

  • The annual registration fee for the Patient Registry is $50

  • Patients must be in the Patient Registry in order for dispensaries to serve patients​

  • The annual fee for a caregiver is $25

  • The Ohio Board of Pharmacy may reduce registration fee by 50% for a patient who qualifies for disabilities, social security or supplemental income (SSI/SSDI), or veteran status

  • Veterans must have their veteran card as well as some form of record to show honorable discharge (i.e. a DD 214 form)

Process of Getting a Card:

  • Check the list of 25 qualifying conditions to confirm that you do qualify

  • Schedule an appointment with one of our certified medical marijuana doctors

  • Meet with our doctor (M.D. or D.O.) to verify qualifying condition

  • MUST HAVE MEDICAL RECORDS verifying the qualifying condition(s) in addition to a valid form of State I.D.

  • Receive your doctor's recommendation for medical marijuana

  • You will receive a signed letter from the doctor as a placeholder until you download the official Ohio marijuana card from the Ohio Board of Pharmacy. The signed recommendation letter cannot be used to access a dispensary, but it can be utilized as a secondary form of proof that you are an approved medical marijuana patient in Ohio.

  • The State Board of Pharmacy will process the recommendation and enroll you in the Patient Registry

  • After receiving an email from the Ohio Board of Pharmacy that you have been approved, you will pay the State fee and print off your official Ohio Marijuana Card

  • With the Ohio Marijuana Card, you have access to any cannabis dispensary in the State of Ohio​

  • Follow up with prescribing doctor every 3 months through phone call—follow-ups are free with us!

  • The evaluation date for the renewal of your medical marijuana coverage must be done 1 year from the initial evaluation date

Caregivers:

Medical marijuana caregivers are individuals that have registered with the State to purchase, possess, and administer medical cannabis products for qualifying patients.

  • Each patient can have two caregivers, and an individual can serve as a caregiver for two patients

Reciprocity:

The state of Ohio has not established reciprocity with any other medical marijuana states; however, there is a possibility this will be revisited in the future. The main problem with reciprocity is that due to the Federal law still making marijuana illegal, crossing over state borders with marijuana products—even if they are medicinal—is still considered a federal crime. 

Minors (Under the age of 18):

The minor's parent or legal guardian must consent for medical marijuana treatment. This is done by submitting a caregiver registration submission through the OMMCP's website. The medical marijuana products must then be purchased by the licensed caregiver.

  • When turning 18 the patient must renew at that time, or wait until the end of the yearly coverage

Medical Marijuana Products:

  • Tier 1: 23% or less THC concentration

  • Tier 2: 23-35% THC concentration

  • Concentrated oils must have a THC concentration of less than 70%

Ohio Medical Marijuana Laws: 2021 Purchase Limits

A patient may purchase no less than ___ per day: 

  • 2.83 grams (1/10 of an oz) of plant material

  • 295 milligrams of THC in patch, lotion, cream, or ointment

  • 110 mg of THC in oil, tincture, capsule, or edible for oral administration

  • 590 mg of THC in oil for vaporization

90 day limits:

  • Tier 1: No more than 8 ozs of plant material

  • Tier 2: No more than 5 and 3/10 ozs of plant material

  • No more than 26.55 grams of THC content in patches, lotions, creams, or ointments

  • No more than 9 and 9/10 grams of THC content in oil, tincture, capsule, or edible form

  • No more than 53 and 1/10 grams of THC content in oil for vaporization

 

Terminal illness (90 days):

  • Tier 1: No more than 10 ozs of plant material

  • Tier 2: No more than 6 and 6/10 ozs of plant material

  • No more than 33 3/10 of THC in patches, lotions, creams, or ointments

  • No more than 11 and 7/10 of THC in oil, tincture, capsule, or edible

  • No more than 65 and 7/10 grams of THC in concentrated oils